Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Google Display - Best Practices

Hey PSP Forumers

What are some of your best practices when it comes to running Display campaigns?

- Eliminating certain apps
    - Campaign / AdGroup structuring
    - Tools to help with identifying opportunities (AdLeg Video Hoarder seems legit)

Would love to hear what is bring you success with this format, as it can be an effective (cheap) way to drive people back to the website.

Rob

I am not a pro here but I did consider removing weird website placements and apps a must-do step in Display campaigns. However, I recently eliminated app placements completely on a display campaign. The client called about 2 weeks later and said they suddenly had a drop in leads. I turned the app placements back on and the client had more leads.

This is weird because many of the app placements were completely irrelevant. I know you'd say I was "targeting the person" rather than the content. Which I get. What I don't get is: why are some of the highest converting placements foreign language, spammy websites and kids game apps? I don't get it. I can't imagine it's common for a parent to be watching their kid play an iPhone game, take the phone from the kid, then click my ad and fill out a lead form on my client's website.

Same thing with foreign language websites. These are obscure foreign languages, not Spanish. They convert a lot. I don't get it... and so I don't have a display checklist anymore...

Comment

• Austin
      Austin commented
      Editing a comment
      No, you've got to go through all the placements and tick each one. You can do it quickly though by using the keyboard instead of the mouse. Tick the first app placement box with your mouse. Then press the down arrow on your keyboard, then space, down arrow, space, down arrow... all down the list.

• sarahbee
      sarahbee commented
      Editing a comment
      Do you how the client is defining leads and are they qualified?